The District is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors elected by registered
voters within the District boundaries.  These Board members serve without
compensation for 4-year terms.  Elections are held in May of each even-numbered
year for three or four of the open positions.  Officers are selected by the Board
members in June after election results are canvassed, the Oath of Office has been
administered and each new Board has been seated.

The First Board of Directors were appointed by Gov. Dolph Briscoe when the District
was formed in 1975 and included Bob Fincher, John McKee, Joe E. Cox, Bill Forrester,
J.N. Loden, Clifton Smith with Dillard Smith serving as President.

The current Board members are President Clifton Smith, Jr., Vice President James A.
Scrimshire, Secretary Joseph King, Asst. Secretary David B. Lewis, C.D. Smith, Eldon
Cox and
Carolyn Morgan..

The Board of Directors determine the District’s policies, ensuring that the District
operates within the guidelines of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, the
Texas Water Code Chapter 49, the Environmental Protection Agency and any
legislation, federal or state, that affects the treatment or distribution of potable water
and the collection and treatment of wastewater.  The Board also determines the rate
structures imposed on its customers in order to continue growth of the system and
maintenance of its current infrastructure.  The Board also hires the General Manager
and Management Staff.

The Board meets each fourth Monday of the month at 6:00 P.M. at the District office.  
These meetings, and any special meetings that may be called, are always open to the
public.  Personnel, legal, real estate and security matters are discussed in closed
Executive Session, with any action to be taken on these issues voted on when the
members return to Open Session.

Persons wishing to address the Board with an issue that will require Board action must
request that item and their name be placed on the published agenda.  The written
request for inclusion on the agenda must be received at the District office by the third
Monday of each month.  Agendas are published and posted at least 72 hours prior to
any meeting.